The Penalty For Possesion Of Marijuana In Texas May Get Lighter
A bill reducing the penalty for possession of marijuana in Texas has passed the house!
The bill, HB63, still has to pass the Senate but, it's on it's way and that's good news! If … or, when … it becomes law, it would change the penalty for possession of up to an ounce of weed to a Class C misdemeanor.
It makes possession of an ounce or less a maximum $500 fine with no arrest, and has a provision which would prevent the loss of a defendant’s drivers license and allow for a quick expungement. This reduces the penalty from a Class B misdemeanor, which allows for a fine up to $2,000 and 180 days in jail. - txcann.com
Rep Joe Moody, who's from El Paso, has been pushing for this bill because he saw no reason to punish people for small amounts of pot, held for personal use. Or to keep spending zillions of dollars finding, arresting, trying, etc, thousands and thousands of people every year for small amounts of marijuana.
It's not done yet but, hopefully the bill will soon become law. Another bill broadening the use of medical marijuana is also working it's way through the system.