If A Cop Stops You In Texas, After Friday, You Better Have ID
A lot of new laws will be taking effect as of Friday. Here's another one for you 'cuz, why not ... we can all use more laws, right?
After this Friday, September 1st, many new laws will take effect in Texas.
One of these new laws has to do with how you act when a law enforcement officer in Texas initiates a traffic stop. Step one, of course, is that you have to stop.
Next up, when the cop asks for your ID, you have to give it to him. Nothing new there really, that's how it was always supposed to go.
What's different, after September 1st, 2023, is the penalty for not doing so.
SB 1551 says anyone who “fails to provide or display the person’s driver’s license on the officer’s request for the license” can be charged with a class C misdemeanor, which is punishable by a $500 fine. Previously, those under arrest could only be prosecuted for providing false identification.
Providing false identification during a traffic stop will be considered a class B misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 180 days in jail, in addition to a possible fine of up to $2,000. - kltv.com
Basically, not showing ID used to be considered "giving false info". Now, not showing ID is its own offense and the penalty for showing "false" info has been increased.
Bottom line, don't drive without your shizzle.
Might want to keep a photo of it on your phone too as wallets, purses, etc, are often misplaced or stolen.