Lost Your Texas Driver License? You May Be Able To Get It Back!
If the Texas Driver Responsibility program cost you your license, there's a good chance you can have it reinstated!
TDRP applied extra fees in addition to the points and fines already assessed with traffic violations and millions of Texans, unable to pay those extra fees, lost their licenses. 16 years later, this idiotic practice has finally been deemed unfair and shut down and those who fell victim to it have a chance to get their license back. See if you're eligible.
According to an El Paso Herald-Post article, "Drivers whose fees and suspensions stem solely from the Driver Responsibility Program will either immediately be eligible to have their driver’s licenses reinstated or be eligible after paying a reinstatement fee of about $100." If you lost your license for other reasons, you may be able to get it back after resolving those issues.
Renewals begin after September 1st. Licenses expired for under 2 years can renew online. If it's been longer, you'll have to start from the beginning.
If you lost your license for not paying the initial fine(s) or for not showing up in court, you're still screwed.