Early voting for the May 1 election kicks off today and you might think, eh, who cares? It's just the school board elections and some other stuff but I can't be bothered. Well, you should bother because if you live in the El Paso Independent School District, that is the biggest chunk of your property taxes and the school board is the entity that sets the tax rate. The Socorro Independent School District is also on the ballot for a number of their board of trustees so if you want someone else to vote for the people who are fixing a big portion of your property taxes, don't bother voting.

If you want to vote, here are the trustee seats that are open on the the EPISD board of trustess:

District 1: Bob Geske seat is being sought by candidates Leah Hanany, Jennie Tipton Lasley, Arturo Dominguez and Kirstin J. Perez.
District 3: Josh Acevedo is trying to keep his seat. His opponents are Leslie Hoard and Cindy Hernandez.
District 4: Diane M. Dye is also defending her seat against challengers Fainot Pierre, Betty Ann Halliburton, Frances De Santos Whitaker and Claudia Soto.
District 5: Chuck Taylor's seat is being sought by candidates Stephen W. Hayes Sr., Vanessa Betts, Willeta I. Corbett, Israel Irrobali and Jerome Tilghman.

KLAQ El Paso logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Over in the Socorro Independent School District, these trustee seats are up for grabs:

District 2: Cynthia Najera is facing off against William Carrasco, Jack Duncan Jr., and Veronica J. Esparza.
District 3: Angelica Rodriguez is up against challengers Ricardo O. Castellano, Jaime Hernandez, and Fancy Adams.
District 4: Paul Guerra has one challenger, Jaime Martinez.
District 5: Gary Gandara is also facing one challenger, Pablo Alfonso Barrera.

There are 20 early voting locations to choose from. Click here for the link to the addresses, plus the days and times that they will be open.

READ MORE: See 50 remote jobs that can pay well

More From KLAQ El Paso