English power metallers DragonForce are set to release their fifth studio album ‘The Power Within’ on April 17 via Roadrunner Records. This is the band’s first album with new frontman Marc Hudson.

‘The Power Within’ is the band’s first disc since 2008’s ‘Ultra Beatdown.’ Hudson steps in as the singer of DragonForce, who parted ways with original frontman ZP Theart in 2010.

Guitarist Herman Li says, “The last two years have been the most fun we ever had making an album. Through writing, jamming and touring together, we have built this incredible energy and it has been fully captured on the new album.”

The special edition of the album includes bonus tracks the live rehearsal version of ‘Cry Thunder,’ an alternative chorus version of ‘Heart of the Storm’ and the instrumental version of ‘Avant La Tempête.’

Li goes on to say, “This time around we’ve really brought our metal side to the surface and made some of the best music of our career. From the fastest song we’ve ever recorded to the slower songs, and some things you would never expect from us, this is by far the most diverse DragonForce album yet.”

Check out Marc Hudson in action when the band stopped in New York City in 2011, and stay tuned for DragonForce U.S. tour news.

DragonForce, ‘The Power Within’ Track Listing:

1. ‘Holding On’

2. ‘Fallen World’

3. ‘Cry Thunder’

4. ‘Give Me the Night’

5. ‘Wings of Liberty’

6. ‘Seasons’

7. ‘Heart of the Storm’

8. ‘Die by the Sword’

9. ‘Last Man Stands’

10. ‘Seasons (Acoustic Version)’

More From KLAQ El Paso