The Corrosion of Conformity (C.O.C.) lineup that helped popularize crossover metal in the ’80s, will release their self-titled new album on Feb. 28, 2012.

The disc features the three musicians who played on the 1985 classic ‘Animosity,’ vocalist and bassist Mike Dean, guitarist Woody Weatherman and drummer and vocalist Reed Mullin. The band recorded the album at Dave Grohl’s Studio 606 in Los Angeles with co-producer John Custer. John Lousteau (Foo Fighters) mixed the disc, while Seldon Hunt created the art work.

C.O.C. wrote and recorded the album in several stages over the past year. “We tracked the songs at Studio 606 then headed for Europe, toured the U.S., and returned to Europe,” Dean said. “We then did some vocals at home in North Carolina, but not where we originally planned; the studio was flattened by a system of spring tornadoes. We made our way back to 606 about seven months later and mixed twelve songs in ten days.”

‘Corrosion of Conformity’ is the follow-up to 2005′s ‘In the Arms of God,’ which featured vocalist and guitarist Pepper Keenan, who is officially still in the band, but didn’t contribute to the album; Keenan is also a guitarist in Down. The regular CD features 11 new songs and the deluxe digipak and vinyl versions include two additional tracks, ‘Canyon Man’ and ‘The Same Way.’ Various vinyl configurations will be available.

“We like the idea of pressing this music on vinyl because so much of our inspiration comes from music that precedes the digital era,” Dean said. “It’s also cool to have that large format for the artwork and the lyrics and the credits. It’s such a tangible physical product you can hold in your hands.”

Corrosion of Conformity will end 2011 playing with Clutch from Dec. 27 in Boston through a New Years Eve performance in Philadelphia. The band will also play a gig in Ashville, N.C. with Hail!Hornet on Jan. 22, 2012.

‘Corrosion of Conformity’ Track-Listing:

1. Psychic Vampire

2. River of Stone

3. Leeches

4. El Lamento de Las Cabras

5. Your Tomorrow

6. The Doom

7. The Moneychangers

8. Come Not Here

9. What We Become

10. Rat City

11. Time of Trials

12. Canyon Man (deluxe/vinyl only)

13. The Same Way (deluxe/vinyl only)

Corrosion of Conformity Tour Dates:

12/27/2011 House of Blues – Boston, Mass.

12/28/2011 State Theater – Portland, Maine

12/29/2011 Westcott Theater – Syracuse, N.Y.

12/30/2011 Starland Ballroom – Sayreville, N.J.

12/31/2011 Trocadero Theater – Philadelphia, Pa.

01/22/2011 The Orange Peel – Asheville, N.C.