Texas Motorcycle Helmet Laws
Everyone recommends wearing a helmet and certain riders in Texas are required to wear them. Who's who though?
Riders and passengers under 21 years of age must wear a helmet. According to Texas DPS, as of 2009, if you don't wear a helmet, you must have insurance:
The law requires the Texas Department of Insurance to prescribe a standard proof of health insurance for issuance to persons who are at least 21 years of age and covered by an applicable health insurance plan.
New Mexico riders need only be at least 18 years old. (For other state laws, click here.) The 2009 rewrite also repealed the need for riders to take rider safety courses and forbids police from stopping bikers solely to check helmet law compliance. Read the law.
Here are a few other common Texas motorcycle law FAQ's:
- Can motorcycles run unresponsive traffic signals? No.
- Can motorcycles "split" lanes. Maybe. The law doesn't say so, there's room for lawyers to work here.
- Are turn signals required on motorcycles? No. (But if yours has them, they must function.)
- Height limits for handlebars? No.
- Minimum licensing age? 15.
- Minimum passenger age? 5.