Puddle of Mudd is looking to the past for its new record.  The group's next release will be a collection of cover songs titled "Re:(disc)overed."  Guitarist Paul Phillips tells Billboard.com that the band was so "burned out" from the endless cycle of recording and touring that they weren't ready to write new material for a follow-up to 2009's "Volume 4: Songs In The Key Of Love & Hate."  Instead, he explains that they were having so much fun playing covers of classic rock songs on stage that they decided to bring them into the studio. 

But it wasn't all fun and games.  Phillips says the band picked "challenging" songs that people wouldn't expect them to take on, like Elton John's "Rocket Man" and Led Zeppelin's "D'yer M'ker."  He even says the solo on their cover of Free's "All Right Now" is his "arch nemesis."  "Re:(disc)overed" is due out August 2nd.

Here are the songs covered on Puddle of Mudd's "Re:(disc)overed":

"Gimme Shelter" -- The Rolling Stones
"Old Man" -- Neil Young
"TNT" -- AC/DC
"Stop Draggin' My Heart Around" -- Stevie Nicks with Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
"The Joker" -- Steve Miller Band
"Everybody Wants You" -- Billy Squire
"Rocket Man" -- Elton John
"All Right Now" -- Free
"Shooting Star" -- Bad Company
"Funk 49" -- James Gang
"D'yer M'ker" -- Led Zeppelin